Call for Papers
     Paper submission
     Final Paper submission
     Keynote speakers
     Conference Program
     Visitor information
          - Visa
          - Accomodation
          - Get there ( Map )
          - Tourist Guide
     Contact us
     EPECS 2011

Prof. Ralph M. KENNEL

Institute for Electrical Drive Systems & Power Electronics Technical University of Munich, Germany

Title of Keynote Lecture
Predictive Control - the Powerful Method to Control Power Converters and Drives in the Future

Ralph M. Kennel was born in 1955 at Kaiserslautern (Germany). In 1979 he got his diploma degree and in 1984 his Dr.-Ing. (Ph.D.) degree from the University of Kaiserslautern. From 1983 to 1999 he worked on several positions with Robert BOSCH GmbH (Germany). Until 1997 he was responsible for the development of servo drives. Dr. Kennel was one of the main supporters of VECON and SERCOS interface, two multi-company development projects for a microcontroller and a digital interface especially dedicated to servo drives. Furthermore he took actively part in the definition and release of new standards with respect to CE marking for servo drives Between 1997 and 1999 Dr. Kennel was responsible for "Advanced and Product Development of Fractional Horsepower Motors" in automotive applications. His main activity was preparing the introduction of brushless drive concepts to the automotive market. From 1994 to 1999 Dr. Kennel was appointed Visiting Professor at the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne (England, UK). From 1999 - 2008 he was Professor for Electrical Machines and Drives at Wuppertal University (Germany). Since 2008 he is Professor for Electrical Drive systems and Power Electronics at Technische Universtaet Muenchen (Germany). His main interests today are: Sensorless control of AC drives, predictive control of power electronics and Hardware-in-the-Loop systems. Dr. Kennel is a Senior Member of IEEE, a Fellow of IEE and a Chartered Engineer in the UK. Within IEEE he is Treasurer of the Germany Section as well as ECCE Global Partnership Chair of the Power Electronics society (PELS)

Prof. Saifur RAHMAN

Director of the Advanced Research Institute Virginia Tech. VA, USA

Title of Keynote Lecture
Opportunities and Challenges of Deploying the Smart Grid

Professor Saifur Rahman is the founding director of the Advanced Research Institute (www.ari.vt.edu) at Virginia Tech where he is the Joseph R. Loring professor of electrical and computer engineering. He also directs the Center for Energy and the Global Environment (www.ceage.vt.edu). He is a Fellow of the IEEE and an IEEE Millennium Medal winner. He was the founding editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy. He is a vice president of the IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) and a member-at-large of the IEEE-USA Energy Policy Committee. Currently he is serving as the chair of the US Naitonal Science Foundation Advisory Committee for International Science and Engineering. He is a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE PES, and has lectured on smart grid, energy efficient lighting solutions, renewable energy, demand response, distributed generation and critical infrastructure protection topics in over 30 countries on all six continents.
He received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Virginia Tech in 1978. His industry and government experience includes work with the Tokyo Electric Power Company in Japan, the Brookhaven National Laboratory in New York, Progress Energy, and consultancy for the World Bank, the United Nations, US Agency for the International Development and the Asian Development Bank.


IEEE Fellow, Aalborg University, Denmark

Title of Keynote Lecture
Power Electronics – key technology for renewable energy systems – status and future

He was employed at ABB-Scandia, Randers, from 1987-1988. During 1988-1992 he was a PhD. student at Aalborg University. He became an Assistant Profes¬sor in 1992 at Aalborg University, in 1996 Associate Professor and in 1998 full professor in power electronics and drives the same place. In 2000 he was visiting professor in University of Padova, Italy as well as he became part-time programme research leader at Research Center Risoe in wind turbines. He has been dean of the faculties of Engineering, Science and Medicine at Aalborg University, Denmark in the time period of 2006-2010. In 2002 he was visiting professor at Curtin University of Technology, Perth, Australia. His research areas are in power electronics, static power converters, ac drives, switched reluctance drives, modelling, characterization of power semiconductor devices and simulation, power quality, wind turbines, custom power systems, reliability and green power inverter. He has been involved in more than fifty research projects with the industry. Presently he is leader of the Center of Reliable Power Electronics (CORPE). He is the author or co-author of more than 700 publications in his research fields including the book “Control in Power Electronics” (Eds. M.P. Kazmierkowski, R. Krishnan, F. Blaabjerg) 2002, Academic Press. Out of those +450 papers are registered in IEEExplore with more than 180 ISI-registered journal papers.
From 2006-2012 he has been Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics as well as he has been Distingueshed lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society from 2005 to 2008. In 2010-2011 he was Distigueshed Lecturer of IEEE Industry Applications Society and now he is prominent lecturer. He is active in national and international research councils.
He received the 1995 Angelos Award for his contribution in modulation technique and control of electric drives, and an Annual Teacher prize at Aalborg University, also 1995. In 1998 he received the Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award from the IEEE Power Electronics Society. He has received eleven IEEE Prize paper awards during the last ten years (the last one in 2008) and an other prize paper award at PELINCEC Poland 2005. In 2002 he received the C.Y. O’Connor fellowship from Perth, Australia, in 2003 the Statoil-prize for his contributions in Power Electronics and in 2004 the Grundfos Prize in acknowledgement of his international scientific research in power electronics. He became IEEE Fellow in 2003. He received the IEEE Power Electronics Society Distingueshed Service Award in 2009 and the EPE-PEMC Council award in 2010. Recently he got awarded an ERC Advanced Grant – “Harmony”.

Prof. Stanislaw M. Gubanski

Title of Keynote Lecture

Stanislaw M. Gubanski received M.Sc. (high voltage engineering) and Ph.D. degrees (material science) from the Technical University of Wroclaw, Poland, respectively in 1973 and 1976. He worked as a Research Fellow at the University College of North Wales Bangor, U.K (1976 -1977) and a senior lecturer at the Technical University of Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland ( 1977- 1988). Afterwards he became an associate professor (1989-1996) at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden. Currently, he acts as professor and group leader in High Voltage Engineering at the Department of Materials and Manufacturing Technology, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden. He is IEEE Fellow and Distinguished Member of CIGRE. During the period 2000-2010 he convened CIGRE Working Groups 15.01.09 and D1.01,14, both evaluating methodologies for diagnosing moisture content in transformer insulation. He was also Chair of the Nominations Committee and Vice President (Technical & Administrative) of IEEE's Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society. Presently he acts as a Senior Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation.